top of page

Fixing the Meade Lightswitch LS-8

This is my favorite telescope - turn it on and after about 5 minutes it is automatically aligned and ready for use. Recently it stopped working properly - although visually the alignment stars were centered, the scope didn't think so and would not align. A call to Meade said they charge $300 plus $50 shipping with 6 to 8 week turnaround - ouch!

The customer service guy said I might first try reinstalling the firmware. I decided to go this route. Meade charges $20 for a mini SD card with the firmware installed. I ordered one. I installed the firmware and yes - it fixed the problem! My favorite scope is now operational again!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page